Reviews

Would you like to write a review of  your stay with us.

 

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Aug 14, 2014 by Marilyn Tipping

First class accommodation, fantastic breakfast, great value for money plus friendly helpful proprietor. Booked through internet recommendation and we were certainly not disappointed.


Friendly hotel

Jun 03, 2014 by Mr and Mrs Jackson

We visited the gungate for a short break and were welcomed by Sue with an upgrade to the coach house. What a lovely room and what lovely people! The accommodation and the food were excellent and both Sue and Darren could not have been more helpful - Highly recommended.


Excellent Stay

Mar 21, 2014 by Hazel

Excellent stay very comfortable room and super breakfast. Will definitely be back!


Fantastic Breakfast

Feb 18, 2014 by Chanoch

Breakfast was fantastic, nice hotel


Excellent visit

Jan 14, 2014 by Dawn

Dawn – Maidstone January 14
Family with older children
The owner is Sue and she made us very welcome and advised us where we could go out for a drink to that night. At breakfast time, which was delicious, she was so very accommodating both in food and price (we are vegetarian) and even gave us a croissant to take back to our room for our teenage son (who was still in bed!). The little touches in the room such as packets of tissues are lovely, and easily accessible free wifi. It was an ideal location for visiting our family in the Midlands and we will definitely return!


“Weekend Breakaway”

Jan 13, 2014 by Amie

I have just stayed here for the last two days and had a very comfortable time. The hotel is well run, very clean and has very welcoming staff. Sue was particularly helpful throughout my stay with my fiancé. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choice; we both had the full English which was plentiful and well cooked. Sue was telling us that the hotel had recently been on the hotel inspector and has benefited from a huge refurbishment. Our room was spacious and had a huge TV, the hotel was very quiet and lies back from the main road; but only a few minutes’ walk from Tamworth town centre. We visited Drayton Manor and the Belfry Hotel as we are looking at wedding venues and thought it would be nice to make the weekend of it.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.


Weekend visit to tamworth

Jan 12, 2014 by Wayne

\"While we was up visiting family , we decided to choose \"the gungate\" as it was recommend by our friends they told us that the family room very good standard and modern, good facilities, cooked breakfasts and children catered for.

They was not wrong we had an excellent stay and our little boy loved it thanks for a great time we felt very welcome, we will be defiantly be back especially for your breakfast Defiantly value for money - see you next time :-)

Would also like to give thumbs up to - Drayton Manor Theme Park and Zoo\"


Short Business Trip

Jan 12, 2014 by Richard P

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in December 2013 whilst on a business trip. My room was of an excellent standard, very clean and fairly recently refurbished. I had chosen the Hotel due to its new 3 star Gold rating by the AA, and a measure of standards second to none across the UK.
The staff where friendly and helpful both in the food service, check-in and allowing the use of their photocopier for work I was preparing for meeting.
Having friends who travel to Drayton Manor Leisure Park I asked to see a family room, this was done without delay. The two rooms accommodating 2 adults and two children were again freshly renovated and to a high standard.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to families and business associates.

4 of 5 stars Value
5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service


Good experience

Jan 10, 2014 by 1057JH

I recently stayed at the newly branded "The Gungate" in Tamworth, which is no longer classed as an hotel but a 3*AA Guest Accommodation. I booked a family room for myself, my partner and my 2 year old son expecting a small room with no bathroom. Upon arriving at The Gungate we were greeted by the lady owner who asked us the reason for our visit to Tamworth. She was very welcoming and showed us to our room which was newly decorated, had a double bed and 2 single beds with an en-suite. We dropped our bags off before asking the owner for directions to Drayton Manor theme park, the owner wrote these down for us and gave us a leaflet with a map. After a long day we arrived back at The Gungate and asked a male member of staff if we were too late to eat from the menu in the dining area. The lady owner then showed us into the dining area before cooking us some food from the new menu. The Gungate also had a licensed bar for guests which was reasonably priced. We then made our way to the room and had a good nights sleep before eating a well cooked breakfast at 8am the next morning. We then got our belongings and checked out. Overall I was surprised by the how clean, light and spacious The Gungate was and how accommodating the staff were. Will be re-visiting The Gungate later this year.


Would recommend

Dec 16, 2013 by Raymax

December 13 Group from London
We were greeted by the owner who took the time to ensure we were satisfied with the rooms.We had no complaints at all.Would consider staying there again.


The Gungate Hotel 01827 63120 he Gun Gate Hotel Ltd 62 Upper Gungate, Tamworth, Birmingham , B79 8AA USA 4.8 5.0 16 16 First class accommodation, fantastic breakfast, great value for money plus friendly helpful proprietor. Booked through internet recommendation and we were certainly not disappoint
Page:
12

The Gungate