Reviews

Would you like to write a review of  your stay with us.

 

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Excellent

Sep 06, 2014 by Stewart Butler

I could not fault the accommodation or the hospitality provided by Sue the owner.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
A little gem in the middle of Tamworth


This was Our 2nd stay in 7 weeks

Sep 02, 2014 by Lisa and Dave

We stayed here a second time, as last time we did not have chance to spend proper time at The Gungate on the Evening, due to a wedding we were at in Tamworth itself. It was, yet again a wonderful, comfortable stay. Sue was as pleasant as uaual, and even gave us a choice of rooms in the Coach House. We chose no10. We were in no9 last time, and that was beautiful, this was even better! Well done Sue. Thanks for a lovely breakfast too. xx


Aug 14, 2014 by Marilyn Tipping

First class accommodation, fantastic breakfast, great value for money plus friendly helpful proprietor. Booked through internet recommendation and we were certainly not disappointed.


Friendly hotel

Jun 03, 2014 by Mr and Mrs Jackson

We visited the gungate for a short break and were welcomed by Sue with an upgrade to the coach house. What a lovely room and what lovely people! The accommodation and the food were excellent and both Sue and Darren could not have been more helpful - Highly recommended.


Excellent Stay

Mar 21, 2014 by Hazel

Excellent stay very comfortable room and super breakfast. Will definitely be back!


Fantastic Breakfast

Feb 18, 2014 by Chanoch

Breakfast was fantastic, nice hotel


Excellent visit

Jan 14, 2014 by Dawn

Dawn – Maidstone January 14
Family with older children
The owner is Sue and she made us very welcome and advised us where we could go out for a drink to that night. At breakfast time, which was delicious, she was so very accommodating both in food and price (we are vegetarian) and even gave us a croissant to take back to our room for our teenage son (who was still in bed!). The little touches in the room such as packets of tissues are lovely, and easily accessible free wifi. It was an ideal location for visiting our family in the Midlands and we will definitely return!


“Weekend Breakaway”

Jan 13, 2014 by Amie

I have just stayed here for the last two days and had a very comfortable time. The hotel is well run, very clean and has very welcoming staff. Sue was particularly helpful throughout my stay with my fiancé. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choice; we both had the full English which was plentiful and well cooked. Sue was telling us that the hotel had recently been on the hotel inspector and has benefited from a huge refurbishment. Our room was spacious and had a huge TV, the hotel was very quiet and lies back from the main road; but only a few minutes’ walk from Tamworth town centre. We visited Drayton Manor and the Belfry Hotel as we are looking at wedding venues and thought it would be nice to make the weekend of it.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.


Weekend visit to tamworth

Jan 12, 2014 by Wayne

\"While we was up visiting family , we decided to choose \"the gungate\" as it was recommend by our friends they told us that the family room very good standard and modern, good facilities, cooked breakfasts and children catered for.

They was not wrong we had an excellent stay and our little boy loved it thanks for a great time we felt very welcome, we will be defiantly be back especially for your breakfast Defiantly value for money - see you next time :-)

Would also like to give thumbs up to - Drayton Manor Theme Park and Zoo\"


Short Business Trip

Jan 12, 2014 by Richard P

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in December 2013 whilst on a business trip. My room was of an excellent standard, very clean and fairly recently refurbished. I had chosen the Hotel due to its new 3 star Gold rating by the AA, and a measure of standards second to none across the UK.
The staff where friendly and helpful both in the food service, check-in and allowing the use of their photocopier for work I was preparing for meeting.
Having friends who travel to Drayton Manor Leisure Park I asked to see a family room, this was done without delay. The two rooms accommodating 2 adults and two children were again freshly renovated and to a high standard.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to families and business associates.

4 of 5 stars Value
5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service


The Gungate Hotel 01827 63120 he Gun Gate Hotel Ltd 62 Upper Gungate, Tamworth, Birmingham , B79 8AA USA 4.8 5.0 18 18 I could not fault the accommodation or the hospitality provided by Sue the owner.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. A little gem in the middle of Tamworth
Page:
12

The Gungate